Top 10 of 10 years ago
Muse - Absolution


The world as we know it changes at a phenomenal pace. With new inventions being released everyday, technological ‘revolutions’ occurring at a faster rate than ever, and the pace of life constantly quickening a moment of reflection is always a welcome getaway.

Today we are reflecting on the music of yesteryear, 2003 to be specific, by taking a look at the 10 top albums of 2003. This however, is a top 10 with a difference. It is not based on the number of albums sold, but rather on artistic merit and listener reviews.

Some might think that getting ahold of a brand new copy of your favourite album from a decade ago would be a difficult task. Thanks to bidorbuy this is not the case. Head over to the  Tapes, LPS & Other Formats, CD, or DVD section of the Music & Instruments category to find a huge selection of music, both old and new, available at your fingertips!


1) The White Stripes – Elephant

The White Stripes - Elephant
Elephant by The White Stripes

Elephant was the fourth album released by the American alternative rock duo – The White Stripes. The album was a major boost for The White Stripes, which brought them firmly into the mainstream music world.

The album also features the hit single “Seven Nation Army” which reached the number one spot on both the South African and international charts.












2) Muse – Absolution

Muse - Absolution
Absolution by Muse


Absolution is the third studio album to be released by the British alternative rockers Muse. Absolution saw a slight change in the band’s style, as their tracks became increasingly heavy and rock influenced. The album features tracks such as Hysteria & Time is Running Out which reflect the apocalyptic theme that is evident throughout the album.










3) Radiohead – Hail to the Thief (or The Gloaming)


Radiohead - Hail to the Thief
Hail to the Thief by Radiohead

Hail to the Thief is the sixth studio album from the British alternative rock band Radiohead. Hail to the Thief was a departure for Radiohead as their previous two albums were heavily electronic. Hail to the Thief saw the band progress towards a heavier, guitar based, rock sound which has is still evident in their recent work.












4) The Mars Volta – De-loused In The Comatorium

The Mars Volta - De-loused in the Comatorium
De-loused In The Comatorium by The Mars Volta

De-Loused In The Comatorium is the debut album of the american based rock group – The Mars Volta. The album, which is based on a short story written by the bands lead singer and sound engineer, is an hour long tale of a fictional character named Cerpin Taxt who enters a coma after overdosing on a mixture of morphine and rat poison. Interestingly, the Red Hot Chili Peppers bass guitarist Flea – is the bassist for the entire album, after the band’s original bassist Eva Garden left the group.

The cover art for De-loused in the Comatorium was designed by the world-famous album cover and graphic designer Storm Thorgerson who was featured in an earlier article





5) The Strokes – Room on Fire

The Strokes - Room on Fire
Room on Fire by The Strokes

Room on Fire is the second studio album from the American Indie-rock band The Strokes. The album’s title is taken from a single on the album named “Reptilia” which features the line “The room is on fire as she’s fixing her hair”.

The record did well on it’s release, managing to reach number 2 on the UK album charts and debuting at number 4 on the American counterpart.











6) The Postal Service – Give Up

The Postal Service - Give Up
Give Up by The Postal Service

Give Up is the debut album of the electronic pop duo The Postal Service. The album rocketed the duo to  international success and quickly earned Platinum status.

The Postal Service is comprised of  the Death Cab for Cutie vocalist Ben Gibbard and the electronic music artist Jimmy Tamborello. The album managed to appeal to a huge audience thanks to the soft vocal and acoustic elements present in the majority of tracks as well as the elements of the eighties genre New Wave being prominent throughout.







7) The Shins – Chutes Too Narrow


The Shins - Chutes Too Narrow
Chutes Too Narrow by The Shins

Chutes Too Narrow is the second album to be released by the American Indie-Rock band, The Shins, following on the tremendous success of their debut album Oh Inverted World.

Chutes Too Narrow managed to sell 393 000 copies by February 2013. This album represented a departure from The Shins traditional “lo-fi” sound, in favour of a much cleaner and more pronounced sound. This is largely due to fact that  the album was produced by Phil Ek of Modest Mouse & Built To Spill fame.  Chutes Too Narrow also departs from the heavy reliance on keyboards that was very prominent in the groups debut album.

Two tracks from the album also found their way into the films In Good Company(2004) and Winter Passing (2005)





8) Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism

Death Cab for Cutie - Transatlanticism
Transatlanticism by Death Cab for Cutie

Transatlanticism was the fourth studio album to be released by Death Cab for Cutie in October of 2003.  Interestingly, Ben Gibbard (Half of The Postal Service at Number 6) is also the lead singer and frontman for Death Cab for Cutie.

Death Cab for Cutie is comprised of four members and their music has been described as a host of different genres, ranging from indie rock through to emo and alternative rock. As of May 2013 the band had released seven studio albums, five EPs and one demo.

Many are slightly perturbed by band’s name. The name Death Cab for Cutie was taken from a song by the 60’s group, The Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, who were featured in the film Magical Mystery Tour which starred The Beatles and was originally aired in 1967.




9) Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Fever to Tell

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Fever To Tell
Fever To Tell by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Fever to Tell is the debut album from the American indie rock group The Yeah Yeah Yeahs. The album rocketed the band into the limelight and eventually went on to sell over a million copies.

The album was nominated for a host of awards, including a Grammy for best Music Album and was certified as reaching gold status in the UK.  The music video for the song “Maps” was also nominated for MTV Music Awards in 2004 for Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Editing and the MTV2 Award.









10) Explosions in the Sky – The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place.

Explosions In the Sky -  The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place
The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place by Explosions In The Sky


The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place is the third studio album from the American, Texas based band Explosions in the Sky.

The album builds on the previous patterns and styles used by the band in their first two albums and is largely considered to be a concept album.

One of the band’s guitarists, Munaf Rayani, described the album as the band’s “attempt at love songs”.

One of the band’s most notable accomplishments was being featured in the movie and television series Friday Night Lights.