Everything Super Rugby


It’s hard to believe that not so long ago, the final game of the Super Rugby 2011 took place. On the morning of the 9th of July 2011 the final game saw a clash between the Aussie Reds and the New Zealand Crusaders, with the latter winning 18 points to the Reds’ 13 points. So what’s happened to the South African teams you may ask? Well, in the last five years of Super Rugby (2007-2011), South African teams have featured in the finals five times in four of the finals and won the trophy three times; with the Bulls taking the trophy on all three occasions (in 2007, 2009 and 2010).

Previous Finals Winners (2007 – 2011)


2007 Bulls 20 – 19 Sharks
2008 Crusaders 20 – 12 Waratahs
2009 Bulls 61 – 17 Chiefs
2010 Bulls 25 – 17 Stormers
2011 Reds 18 – 13 Crusaders

With such a long season and aggressive game schedule, it’s no wonder that the team make-up will be changed up somewhat. Some of the top players in each team have either retired, or opted to pursue their sport in another country. Victor Matfield, who after 12 years of rugby including Captaining the National team for four years, has retired from play. He is still coaching the Bulls side on a consultancy base, however.

“It’s been good so far…Today is all about finding my feet and fitting in. What makes it a bit easier is that I know the systems the guys work with and even though they’ve been training on their own for two months, it’s just a case of looking for small adjustments at this stage. I want to make a contribution to make a difference for the team.” Victor says, (News24).

Another loss to the team is that of Jacque Fourie, who played for the Stormers, and who is said to be chasing the yen this year. Other great players to leave are: Fourie du Preez, Danie Russouw, as well as Bakkies Botha who now plays for a club in France, to name but a few.

On a lighter note, the new Super Rugby season is almost here and everyone is getting revved up to support their teams. This is the second of its kind to host not 12, not 14, but 15 teams in the fight for the ultimate championship. Your calendar for all the fixtures for 2012 is available below, just make sure you don’t miss out.
Also, check out our rugby apparel shop for your teams apparel, or get into the game with balls and kits from our rugby store.

Super Rugby Fixtures 2012


24 February Blues Crusaders Auckland
24 February Brumbies Force Canberra
24 February Bulls Sharks Pretoria
25 February Chiefs Highlanders Hamilton
25 February Waratahs Reds Sydney
25 February Stormers Hurricanes Cape Town
25 February Lions CHeetahs Johannesburg
2 March Chiefs Blues Hamilton
2 March Rebels Waratahs Sydney
2 March Lions Hurricanes Johannesburg
3 March Highlanders Crusaders Dunedin
3 March Reds Force Brisbane
3 March Cheetahs Bulls Bloemfontein
3 March Stormers Sharks Cape Town
9 March Crusaders Chiefs TBC
9 March Force Hurricanes Perth
10 March Brumbies Cheetahs Canberra
10 March Highlanders Waratahs Dunedin
10 March Reds Rebels Brisbane
10 March Sharks Lions Durban
10 March Bulls Blues Pretoria
16 March Chiefs Brumbies Hamilton
16 March Stormers Blues Cape Town
17 March Hurricanes Highlanders Wellington
17 March Waratahs Force Sydney
17 March Sharks Reds Durban
18 March Rebels Cheetahs Melbourne
23 March Blues Hurricanes Auckland
23 March Rebels Force Melbourne
24 March Waratahs Sharks Sydney
24 March Crusaders Cheetahs Christchurch
24 March Brumbies Highlanders Canberra
24 March Bulls Reds Pretoria
24 March Lions Stormers Johannesburg
30 March Highlanders Rebels Dunedin
31 March Hurricanes Cheetahs Wellington
31 March Chiefs Waratahs Hamilton
31 March Brumbies Sharks Canberra
31 March Force Reds Perth
31 March Lions Crusaders Johannesburg
31 March Stormers Bulls Cape Town
5 April Rebels Blues Melbourne
6 April Hurricanes Sharks Wellington
6 April Reds Brumbies Brisbane
6 April Force Chiefs Perth
7 April Highlanders Stormers Dunedin
7 April Cheetahs Lions Welkom
7 April Bulls Crusaders Pretoria
13 April Blues Sharks Auckland
13 April Force Waratahs Perth
14 April Crusaders Stormers Christchurch
14 April Brumbies Rebels Canberra
14 April Cheetahs Chiefs Bloemfontein
14 April Lions Bulls Johannesburg
20 April Highlanders Blues Dunedin
20 April Reds Stormers Brisbane
21 April Hurricanes Crusaders Wellington
21 April Waratahs Rebels Sydney
21 April Sharks Chiefs Durban
21 April Bulls Brumbies Pretoria
27 April Blues Reds Auckland
27 April Lions Brumbies Johannesburg
28 April Chiefs Hurricanes Hamilton
28 April Force Stormers Perth
28 April Cheetahs Highlanders Bleomfontien
29 April Waratahs Crusaders Sydney
4 May Hurricanes Blues Wellington
4 May Rebels Bulls Melbourne
5 May Chiefs Lions Hamilton
5 May Brumbies Waratahs Canberra
5 May Sharks Highlanders Durban
5 May Cheetahs Force Bloemfontein
6 May Crusaders Reds Christchurch
11 May Blues Lions Auckland
11 May Waratahs Bulls Sydney
12 May Highlanders Hurricanes Dunedin
12 May Rebels Crusaders Melbourne
12 May Sharks Force Durban
12 May Stormers Cheetahs Cape Town
13 May Reds Chiefs Brisbane
18 May Hurricanes Brumbies Wellington
19 May Highlanders Bulls Dunedin
19 May Crusaders Blues Christchurch
19 May Reds Lions Brisbane
19 May Cheetahs Sharks Bloemfontein
19 May Stormers Waratahs Cape Town
20 May Force Rebels Perth
25 May Chiefs Bulls Hamilton
26 May Hurricanes Rebels Wellington
26 May Blues Highlanders Auckland
26 May Brumbies Reds Canberra
26 May Force Lions Perth
26 May Cheetahs Waratahs Bloemfontein
26 May Sharks Stormers Durban
1 June Crusaders Highlanders Christchurch
1 June Rebels Brumbies Melbourne
2 June Blues Chiefs auckland
2 June Waratahs Hurricanes Sydney
2 June Lions Sharks Johannesburg
2 June Bulls Stormers Pretoria
29 June Highlanders Chiefs Dunedin
29 June Rebels Reds Melbourne
30 June Crusaders Hurricanes Christchurch
30 June Force Brumbies Perth
30 June Stormers Lions Cape Town
30 June Bulls Cheetahs Pretoria
6 July Chiefs Crusaders Hamilton
6 July Reds Highlanders Brisbane
6 July Sharks Bulls Durban
7 July Blues Force Auckland
7 July Waratahs Brumbies Sydney
7 July Cheetahs Stormers Bloemfontein
7 July Lions Rebels Johannesburg
13 July Hurricanes Chiefs Wellington
14 July Brumbies Blues Canberra
14 July Crusaders Force Christchurch
14 July Reds Waratahs Brisbane
14 July Stormers Rebels Cape Town
14 July Sharks Cheetahs Durban
14 July Bulls Lions Pretoria
20/21 July 5th Seed 4th Seed TBA
20/21 July 6th Seed 3rd Seed TBA
27/28 July 1st Seed Lowest-ranked qualifier TBA
27/28 July 2nd Seed Lowest-ranked qualifier TBA
4 August Winner SF1 Winner SF2 TBA