The Wheel of Time: A Modern Epic


The Wheel of Time turns…

The term epic is almost unequal to the task of describing Robert Jordans Magnum Opus: The Wheel of Time. Since the first book was published in 1990 the series has stretched to fourteen volumes. The finale was published in January 2013, which makes the total publication history of the series a whopping 22 years 11 months and 24 days.

The Wheel of Time concerns the fate of a host of characters but specifically homes in on the lives of three young men: Rand al-Thor, Perrin Aybara and Matrim Cauthon, who lead a gentle agrarian life in the small town of the Two Rivers. This peaceful existence is shattered with the arrival of mysterious strangers to the town who deem that one of the three is the Dragon Reborn, a messianic figure that will battle the evil Shai’tan and unite the two halves of a mystical power.

These tidings are followed by terrible creatures, Trollocs, servants of Shai’tan, pressing the three friends to flee into the wider world, in bid to shape a higher destiny.

Encompassing many ideas gleaned from the established religious systems, as well as a method of sorcery practised by woman alone, the story moves through warfare, politics, adventure and religion to its inevitable close: Tarmon Gaidon, the last battle.

Robert Jordan unfortunately passed away before the series was completed but fellow author Brandon Sanderson followed Jordan’s extensive notes to conclude this epic series. The last volume, A Memory of Light, is currently number one in the world best sellers list.

If you are an avid The Wheel of Time reader, you will want to purchase A Memory of Light. If you are new to the series, consider starting with the first book, The Eye of the World.

Wheel of Time