All together now


The lyrics of Nkosi sikelel’ iAfrika are in the five most widely spoken of South Africa’s eleven official languages:

Xhosa (the first two lines of the first stanza);
Zulu (the last two lines of the first stanza);
Sesotho (the second stanza);
Afrikaans (the third stanza); and
English (the final stanza).

Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika was inaugurated as the official national anthem by a Constitutional Act from 1996 and a proclamation published in the Government Gazette on 10 October 1997.

Find the sheet music to the anthem on this South African government information page.

And here are the words:

Nkosi sikelel’ iAfrika
Maluphakanyisw’ uphondo lwayo,
Yizwa imithandazo yethu,
Nkosi sikelela, thina lusapho lwayo.

Morena boloka setjhaba sa heso,
O fedise dintwa le matshwenyeho,
O se boloke, O se boloke setjhaba sa heso,
Setjhaba sa South Afrika – South Afrika.

Uit die blou van onse hemel,
Uit die diepte van ons see,
Oor ons ewige gebergtes,
Waar die kranse antwoord gee,

Sounds the call to come together,
And united we shall stand,
Let us live and strive for freedom,
In South Africa our land.